I przed wernisażem (2)

Satyrykon 2016 in Warsaw

It’s already become a tradition that after the premier show at Legnica festival, the exhibition goes to visit Museum of Caricature and Cartoon Art in Warsaw. Such had been the practice for 20 years starting from 1992 and after three years’ break we’re trying to recreate this tradition. A much longer tradition is the one related to one of the competition awards – The Director of Museum of Caricature and Cartoon Art in Warsaw Award which was first awarded in 1979. Eryk Lipiński, Ferdynand Ruszczyc, Wojciech Chmurzyński, Elżbieta Laskowska are the following names – rings in this chain of cooperation and friendship.
The post-competition exhibition Satyrykon 2016 at Museum of Caricature and Cartoon Art in Warsaw:
The varnishing day on 15th September at 6.00 p.m. The exhibition is open from September 16th to November 6th 2016. Please feel invited.


The varnishing day of the exhibition in Warsaw is also a good opportunity we use to award Szpile Satyrykonu (Satyrykon Needles) to the most disobedient and inspiring Personalities.
Since 2013, during Satyrykon, we’ve been awarding SZPILE for: widely open mind, sense of humour, the distance to yourself and the world around you, for the activities which somehow move the social intellect, and for marching against the skin deep correctness and doubtful normality (to quote just some of previous years’ statements of reasons for decisions. The laureates are selected by the SATYRYKON SZPILE Chapter which represents Polish opinion-forming society groups and which changes every year.
This year’s laureates are
Joanna Kołaczkowska
As big talent as that of Irena Kwiatkowska. A real master in improvisation and stabbing the needle where it needs to be done.
Wojciech Młynarski
We need his texts again as much as oxygen. They haven’t lost any of their accuracy and help us survive another paranoia.
And both of them, for what they do for our sadder and sadder Mother-land.

Comparing to the previous years, this year’s nominees have included a record number of cabaret artists, bloggers, a director and for the third time a cartoonist – Janek Koza. The laureates of Szpile Satyrykonu 2016 have been selected by the Chapter formed by Artur Andrus, Magda Czapińska, Magda Piekarska, Janusz Weiss and Grzegorz Szczepaniak.

Skip to content